Celebrate, It’s Your Birthday!

Yesterday my hubby came full circle to add yet another candle to his cake which is fast running out of space. I think number candles will do for next years cake.

I’m not sure how as a child my husband celebrated birthdays as in his adult years, he seems to dread the day and the build up to it. I’ve learnt over the years that even though he says there are to be no presents or cake, he actually really wants to be spoilt. Who doesn’t! One year – I left his birthday, didn’t arrange anything as per his request. Geewizz, to this day he has not let me forget. I have learnt from that that regardless of his huffs and puffs, I always make his day a special one and he is clearly appreciative of it. My mother tells me it’s a ‘man’ thing. No mom, I know my husbands love languages. Having said that – upon his arrival home to a tribe of excited children, we spoilt him with his long awaited mountain bike, espresso machine and yummy chocolate cake before dinner! The evening routine was whacked but worth it.

So a the big 36 arrived yesterday. Where have the years gone! They seem to fly faster as we age more. We seem to appreciate life more and more as we realise just how short, fast and fragile life really is. We no longer take the simple things like health and time foregranted either.

I raise my glass in celebration of a fantastic husband and father, who has held my hand, although at times a little tighter, as we walk through this journey we share. As I put it to friends – we have good months and bad days but love covers all our sins.  Here’s to many blessed, wild and happy years ahead. Happy Birthday my McDreamy, you rock my world.

2 thoughts on “Celebrate, It’s Your Birthday!

  1. Happy Birthday to you Mr McDreamy. Glad you really like the celebrations. It’s fun doing things for others when they end up truly enjoying them. Assuming you didn’t use number candles, that cake being lit must have been quite a scene 🙂

    • Hello, thank you for your wishes. Yes indeed I enjoy doing for others by far. I too would say a cake with plenty candles on was far prettier and fun than number candles. With my mothers cake we use one candle per decade lived – that way we still maintain the charm and sparkle to the cake without covering the entire cake with wax as they burn. Thanks for the comment, have a lovely day.

Leave a Reply

