Santa’s Mischievous Little Helper Or Is That A Manipulating Spy?

 

I love Pinterest. I have been inspired by so much on this little pin-board site in the last year. Over the Christmas period I went the ‘home-make’ gift route for a handful of friends and neighbours. Some, with a dash of humour adding that little sprinkle of ‘me’ to the finishing touches.

It was through Pinterest that I came to know of the Elf On The Shelf ‘new’ Christmas tradition. After a little research on Google I read the pros and cons from various parents and non-parents as to their views regarding the concept of this little Elf that visits your house daily only to report back to Santa evenings. Some parents get a little inventive as to the mischief your little Elf got to over night. I little contradiction since it is the Elf reporting on your childs behaviour through the day and taking any messages back for Santa ala Elf of mouth.

Needless to say, I for one, really liked the idea of the Elf On The Shelf for my two little ones who believe so much in the magic of Christmas. Hubby wasn’t impressed as he felt it was ‘demonic’ to bring such things into our house. Then again my hubby is a little grinch around this time too. But closer to the time, he snaps out of it. Thank-goodness quiet frankly. I joke and make him a packet of Grinch Pills aka red and green jelly beans. Take one a day to keep the grinch at bay 😉   is the note I attach. Boy do I love this man.

Of course Elf On The Shelf hasn’t hit South Africa yet – why would it since its launch in 2008. We get the dvds and books but not the actual elf doll. Thanks to my sister Kerry who has ordered our little Elf from a toy store in the USA. Pretty cool. Our Elf will only be able to join our family for next years Christmas though as he didn’t make the long shipment in time. 

Take a look at this families creative ideas for their Elf, Jingles – http://m.youtube.com/#/watch?feature=related&v=V83q4nZMOXM

Thanks Pinterest – every year I like to add a little something special to our family Christmas traditions.

Merry Christmas to all who celebrated.

 

Leave a Reply

