Thought I Was Done With Silkworms!

English: Fourth Instar Silkworm Larvae

Oh drat, hubby walked through the door today with a huge box of silkworms. His student, who happens to be a school teacher, begged him to please take a couple as she simply had too many and was battling to feed them and care for them. A few – try like about 200.

Since my eldest was a little tot, we have had silkworms, cycle after cycle. Sigh. I thought I was done with them until now. My 6 year old is just in heaven at his first batch of silkworm pets. To demonstrate their friendliness and gentleness, I pick up a few and name them. That was short lived for there really are far too many. As a little tease, I take the fattest worm and pretend to eat him 😉 but he just clings to me like velcro. Explaining to my son how they love to hug, their legs just cling to you for ‘worm hugs’. It works eventually – no fear there. ‘But mom, please don’t eat my pets’

I knew my eldest sister was and still is petrified of silkworms and every time she came over, my eldest would secretly put one on her shoulder. I was a classic case of ninja moves when she eventually spotted the little thing.

It’s the same thing with my youngest sister – my eldest secretly puts Mr Curly aka a curly hair tarantula on her shoulder while visiting. Now her reaction takes the cake as she’s a bit of an arachnophobic . I should film it next time for YouTube 😉

The joys of a house full of boys. Part and parcel.

Living life

xxx

Leave a Reply

