It’s Friday, The Thirteenth.

Just an observation, today is Friday the 13th. Big deal I say since I’m far from superstitious. However the radio presenter on this mornings radio stated: Did you know that there are 13 Friday the 13th’s in a year. Apparently but I haven’t googled it so believe nothing that you hear and half of what you read. I did find this titbit though: 

The sixth day of the week and the number 13 both have foreboding reputations said to date from ancient times. It seems their inevitable conjunction from one to three times a year (there will be three such occurrences in 2012, exactly 13 weeks apart) portends more misfortune than some credulous minds can bear. According to some sources it’s the most widespread superstition in the United States today. Some people refuse to go to work on Friday the 13th; some won’t eat in restaurants; many wouldn’t think of setting a wedding on the date. For more on this click on the following: http://urbanlegends.about.com/cs/historical/a/friday_the_13th.htm

Was your Friday the 13th anything but a normal, average, beautiful day? 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “It’s Friday, The Thirteenth.

  1. My dad was born on Friday the 13th and died 31 years later on Friday the 13th. My oldest brother was born on Friday the 13th and died 13 months later on Friday the 13th. My youngest brother was born on Friday the 13th and died 13 minutes after birth on Friday the 13th.

    I’m not superstitious.

    • Wow Russel, I’m sorry to read of your loss over the years. I can’t begin to imagine your pain. My sincere condolences and a huge hug. I ponder if the 13th really is just an unlucky number for some.

Leave a Reply

