He’s My Brother

image

Yesterday marked the 27th year of my brothers passing. A day that changed life as we knew it forever. That video will and is stuck on replay in my memory forever. So often in life when we lose a loved one, we tend to always remember most the day of their death. That day was not their life. I had 10 years of my life shared with my big brother and it’s those years I chose to remember. Our birthdays, christmas days, sunday roasts at my grandparents house, our school years, holidays hanging out at our local public pool and most of all the mischief we got up to as a gang of sibling. Dean, being our big brother was the “leader of the pack” – we even sang that song : leader pack, and now his gone. I’ll try find the artist on YouTube and post it. Our favourite toy was our BMX‘s. Our first official wheels that we had many an adventure on. I miss Dean so very much and often wonder what and where he would be if he wasn’t called by God so young. I know all too well the pain in losing a sibling and could never conceive the pain my mother must feel in losing a child. They say time heals – I’m still waiting. In my experience, the emotions come and go in waves. Some days the waves are big and others, like a still low tide. Never ever forgotten, he’s Dean – my brother.
via PicsArt Photo Studio

Leave a Reply

